I have to remember.

I have to remember that he doesn’t want to start his day with a reprimand.  But it’s hard when he’s loudly wreaking havoc in the gathering area.

I have to remember that he doesn’t want to leave the group on the carpet to sit in a chair.  But it’s hard when he won’t stop elbowing his neighbor.

I have to remember that he enjoys hearing stories.  But it’s hard when he won’t stop talking while I read aloud.

I have to remember that he is naturally curious.  But it’s hard when it seems like he never focuses long enough to process.

I have to remember that he enjoys sharing his thoughts.  But it’s hard when to me, they don’t make a lot of sense.

I have to remember that he actually wants to sit by me at lunch.  But it’s hard when I find his mouth-stuffing incredibly unpleasant.

I have to remember that he needs to stand up and walk around.  But it’s hard when I just, for one minute, want him to sit still.

I have to remember that he really does need significant support.  But it’s hard when he always asks for help with tasks that he can definitely do independently.

I have to remember that he doesn’t intend to irritate and frustrate.  But it’s hard when it sure seems like he does.

I have to remember that he is a 6-year-old boy.  He is supposed to be immature.

I have to remember that he runs to his peers, eager to play.  He values friendship.

I have to remember that he shouts “emergency, emergency!” every time someone falls.  He cares.

I have to remember that he waves his hand furiously, even when he isn’t sure.  He is eager.

I have to remember that he says hello to me every morning and then kisses his mother goodbye.  He loves and is loved.

I have to remember that he comes to school smiling.  He’s happy to be here.

I have to remember that he’s happy to be here.  I need to try to be happy to see him.

I have to remember.  But it’s hard.

 

This entry was posted in Year 2 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I have to remember.

  1. hannah says:

    It is SO HARD. I need to be reminded every day, every minute. Writing this shows how much you care….so much.

Leave a Reply

