8 weeks

It has been 8 weeks since I last blogged.  That’s a long time.  I have plenty of excuses.  Want to hear them?

School was, and always is, a whirlwind leading up to winter break.
Staff morale was quite low in December, which made me too grumpy to blog.
I didn’t want to be a grumpy blogger.
That school-related grumpiness seeped into winter break, putting me in a mood that wasn’t particularly reflective.

I didn’t want to admit to myself or to the internet world that I wasn’t super reflective over winter break and that I didn’t feel perfectly refreshed and rejuvenated upon returning to school.
I didn’t want to announce that this blog is two years old, and  that I’m still not a magical queen teacher.
I wish I were a magical queen teacher.  Then I’d definitely have plenty to blog about.

But school is back, and so am I.  And actually, the real re-start of school is better than the imagined re-start.  Winter break gave me so much time to sit and stew, and in doing so I built up my own stress.  I went back on Monday and was quickly reminded that situations are complicated, that there’s plenty to be cheerful about, and that I do have some semblance of knowledge and skills that I can relatively successfully apply to my teaching.  I slept better this week than I have in quite a while.  Things are fine.

And I’m working on making them better than fine.  I signed up for a writing class on Tuesday evenings, which I’m excited about.  I asked my administration to register me for a day-long workshop on working with students for whom English is a Second Language, which I hope they’ll agree to.  I’m reading good books for a parent-teacher book club at school and for a book club with friends.  I know that a happy me makes me a happy teacher.  That’s what being willfully zen is all about.

So, happy new year!  Cheers to a 2014 full of more consistent and less excuse-filled blogging.

This entry was posted in Year 3 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8 weeks

  1. Justin says:

    Good attitude for the new year! Thanks for the fresh perspective and the jump start to 2nd semester, year 3!

Leave a Reply

